12
Jan
09

Ask me about my vagina

Yup. Those of you who know me knew I couldn’t go long without talking about vaginas. But when it comes to saving money, knowledge is power. And women don’t talk about women’s health nearly as much as they should, and it is still a very taboo topic to some. I will be writing about ways to cure infections, find out your pregnant (or not), and healthy ways to take care of yourself for pennies on the dollar.

Click the jump to read more. Nothing gross, nothing graphic. But just cut for those who would rather pass over it.


Ok, in all fairness. Our society loves to screw over vaginas. Not screw vaginas, screw over. Ever had a yeast infection? $20 automatically gets sucked out of your pocket for an OTC treatment. Don’t even mention prescription treatments, because those go into the triple digits pretty quickly. Bacterial infection? If Flagyl doesn’t work, you pay $80-$175 for a cream. Trying to conceive? Let’s not even start on that one, pregnancy tests are one of the most marked up women’s item EVER. Seriously. It takes pennies to produce one, but you have a woman standing in the “Family Planning” lane scared she’s pregnant, what is she gonna do? She wants one that works, and works well. So, she will shell out $15 or even $20 on one test. One. Test. And she may not know that that $5 test beside the $20 test is actually more effective.

That’s not fair, folks.

Don’t even get me started on contraception.

Or “Feminine hygiene”.

So I am going to be starting a new segment here. I have a lot of experience with.. well.. vaginas. I’ve volunteered at Planned Parenthood, been very active in online women’s health groups, and helped to start a Pro-Choice group over at NKU. And in all the midst of this, I have picked up tips, tricks, home remedies, and info that I want to pass on to as many people as possible.

Let me say a few things: Yes, we will be talking about the girly bits. But, I promise to be as “ungraphic” as possible. But, if something needs to be said, I will say it, I’m not sugar coating. Some things *will* need to be said, though, so that will go behind a jump or a cut.

Also, I AM NOT A DOCTOR. By any means. If you have symptoms that are new to you, or you are worried, get your ass to a doctor. The girly bits are *nothing* to mess with. Sterility, infection, or other problems can arise. I will provide all the information I can that is humanly possible, but if you are unsure about something, listen to your gut.

Lastly, if you have any questions at all – feel free to email or comment. I will provide as much info as I can.

1 Response to “Ask me about my vagina”


  1. January 12, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    hell yeah, blog about the va-jayjay. there’s not nearly enough discussion about it (at least in cincinnati, as it’s the “v-word” here). this post brought to mind gloria steinem’s “if men could menstruate“…you should read it if you haven’t already. so, so true.


Leave a Reply

About Me

An always interesting but sometimes random blog of a 20-something just trying to save money in Cincinnati, Ohio. I am also a wanna-be foodie on a budget.

Likes: cats, pink alcoholic drinks, my KitchenAid mixer, knitting.
Dislikes: Our health care system, celery.


Social Networking Thingies



Pages

Support the Cincinnati Streetcar

Blog Stats

  • 69,085 hits

About Me

An always interesting but sometimes foul-mouthed blog of a 20-something just trying to save money in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Likes: cats, pink alcoholic drinks, my KitchenAid mixer, knitting.
Dislikes: Our health care system, celery.

Social Networking Thingies




