07
Jan
09

More free stuff and “How do you do that?”

picture-014

See that? Ohhhh, yes, of course you do. That, my friends and fellow frugalites, is more free haircare products.

I ran errands all day today. After I saved my boyfriend’s jeep from exploding (does he EVER check the fluids?), I went to Walgreens armed with 8 more Fructis coupons. This time around I got 2 shampoos, 2 conditioners, 2 “soothing milks” (I have no clue what these do, but I know I have frizz, and it says “frizz control” and it’s free, so I figured what the hell. You’ll probably see it in a “cheap critiques” post coming up), and 2 hairsprays. I also got 2 more rolls of free aluminum foil, but those aren’t pictured because the excitement level of free haircare products far exceeds free foil. I also got the boyfriend a 100 piece pack of Nicorette gum for $25, down from $60-ish. He typically pays $40 for the off-brand gum, so $25 is good either way. So 8 more haircare products and 2 more aluminum foils, free.

Also, Sasha at DebtFreeSaver asks:

Can you give more of a breakdown of how you managed to get all that for free?

Sure I can! Most free and steep discounts come from pairing a manufacturers coupon with a store coupon. This can include sales, too. Most stores (in fact, all that I shop at) allow this – but it has to be one of each, it can’t be two manufacturers coupons paired together. For example:

Walgreens had Garnier Fructis on sale for $2.99, down from $3.99.
They put out an Easy Saver coupon book each month, and it included a $2 coupon for Fructis products.
This takes it down to 99 cents. Fructis puts out a high number of coupons, typically for $1. Applied to your purchase, the item becomes free (or, you get a possible overage of 1 cent, depending on the store.)

It can take some time to develop the skills to spot all these pairings. I sit down with my binder and look through 3 store fliers – Target, Walgreens, and CVS. I note what is on sale, and then I see if I have any coupons for them. Free stuff doesn’t come around *all* the time, but it does – that’s when I stock up. Next time I get Fructis coupons I will probably pass them on to a friend to use, since I have plenty to last.

Is this clear enough? If not, feel free to let me know!

1 Response to “More free stuff and “How do you do that?””


  1. January 7, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    That was super helpful, thanks!

    You mention Fructis puts out $1 coupons-do you get those by asking for them from the company or what?

    (Sorry, I want to be a super coupon-er too but I have never been one before, or even used coupons much.)


Leave a Reply

About Me

An always interesting but sometimes random blog of a 20-something just trying to save money in Cincinnati, Ohio. I am also a wanna-be foodie on a budget.

Likes: cats, pink alcoholic drinks, my KitchenAid mixer, knitting.
Dislikes: Our health care system, celery.


Social Networking Thingies



Pages

Support the Cincinnati Streetcar

Blog Stats

  • 69,085 hits

About Me

An always interesting but sometimes foul-mouthed blog of a 20-something just trying to save money in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Likes: cats, pink alcoholic drinks, my KitchenAid mixer, knitting.
Dislikes: Our health care system, celery.

Social Networking Thingies




