06
Jan
09

New Year, New Me

Ok, not really. There is no major difference that happened the night between December 31st and Janurary 1st, except on December 31st I had no hangover, but on the 1st I had one.  I suppose that counts for something.

I’ve been gone for a while. Fun, eh? I worked a job that sucked, then stopped working a job that sucked, and then the holidays hit. I feel behind on clipping coupons and got very, very overwhelmed with it all. Around the end of December I decided that starting over on the New Year would be a good idea.

This was definitely not due to a New Years resolution – I have never been a big fan of them, ever. I’ve really never met anyone that kept one, save for CrockPot365. The date worked because a ton of coupons expired on 12/31, and in early Jan there is always a good amount of coupons that come out.

I also had issues. Yeah.. issues. I love couponing and being frugal, but I really, really felt like I was a minority in the couponing world. Not that that is a bad thing, per se, because it takes all types. But couponing seems dominated by older (not old, note, but older than me) women with families, and they seem to border on the more conservative edge, and religious.

I am NOT saying that this is a bad or horrible thing. I really, really believe it does take all types.

But.. I am an atheist, feminist, pro-choice, loud-mouthed, liberal woman. Just a tad different. I kept the blog to strictly numbers, sales, etc. And let’s face it, it was boring.

In real life, when I dropped all pretense that I would be a soft-spoken, normal woman and I let the freak flag fly. And this, honestly, was one of the best things I have ever done. I found out who my real friends were, the relationship with my boyfriend got better, and all in all I was much happier with myself.

So, folks, that’s what’s gonna happen here. The direction of the blog with be in the same direction, but broader. And a lot more personal, a lot more casual. I received a crock pot for Christmas, I am learning to preserve food and cook better, I am learning to do things that save money and make our lives better. And I fully intend to include all of that in this blog. It will certainly be a mix, but it will all go towards the general direction of saving money. I’m going to start working on a new blog layout, too.

But, this is where the new part comes in. I will have more commentary, more opinions, more profanity, and hopefully more conversation with my readers. As always, the table is open – if you have questions, comments, opinions of your own (no matter what political or social leaning), all are welcome. And I seriously mean that.

So, since we are going for the completely random, I am going to leave you with a video of a place where I wish I were, instead of cold and icy Cincinnati. The artist is Amanda Palmer, who’s mind is genius and genuine. And she looks hot as hell as a teacher (rawr). And you might be seeing this warning more often but this video isn’t totally work safe, although there is no nudity. (Oh, and yes, fuck Universal and RoadRunner Records.)

2 Responses to “New Year, New Me”


  1. January 6, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I just posted how I deal with coupons. I had to comes to terms with not basing it on dollars saved in order to brag, but % of bill saved for my own personal satisfaction 🙂 Happy Blogging! oh and thanks for spelling udandi with a lowercase ‘u’ you’re one of the few that get it!

  2. January 8, 2009 at 4:49 am

    isn’t that the dresden dolls? also, great blog. you’re not the only loud, liberal cincinnati woman who also coupons. although i daresay you’re much more organized about it than i am. 😉


Leave a Reply

About Me

An always interesting but sometimes random blog of a 20-something just trying to save money in Cincinnati, Ohio. I am also a wanna-be foodie on a budget.

Likes: cats, pink alcoholic drinks, my KitchenAid mixer, knitting.
Dislikes: Our health care system, celery.


Social Networking Thingies



Pages

Support the Cincinnati Streetcar

Blog Stats

  • 69,446 hits

About Me

An always interesting but sometimes foul-mouthed blog of a 20-something just trying to save money in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Likes: cats, pink alcoholic drinks, my KitchenAid mixer, knitting.
Dislikes: Our health care system, celery.

Social Networking Thingies




